To:

President of the International Federation of Journalists

Younes M'Jahed

General Secretary of the International Federation of Journalists

**Anthony Bellanger** 

President of the European Federation of Journalists

Mogens Blicher Bjerregård

General Secretary of the European Federation of Journalists

Ricardo Gutiérrez

## Dear colleagues!

We are very grateful for your professional solidarity and your efforts for our release. We were supported by familiars and strangers, by colleagues from all over the world. The statements made by the International and European Federations of Journalists and unions of journalists of different countries played an important role in spreading the truth about Ukrainian journalists persecuted by the Russian Federation and the pro-Russian "authorities" in the Donbass. Your principled position has increased international pressure for our release, added power and inspiration, gave the belief that freedom would come.

Our Crimean colleagues, who are being persecuted by the Russian authorities require the same strong international support. We are convinced that the illegally detained and imprisoned Crimean Tatar citizen journalists Nariman Memedeminov, Server Mustafayev, Remzi Bekirov, Osman Arifmemetov, Rustem Sheikhaliyev should be released immediately. Criminal prosecution of Crimean journalists and bloggers by Russian law enforcement, Russian authorities, and the courts is a direct violation of the freedom of expression and the right of people to objective information.

We ask, as part of the solidarity campaign, to step up international pressure to release our colleagues and removal of their illegal charges.

## Best regards,

## Roman Sushchenko.

correspondent of the national news agency "Ukrinform", member of the National Union of Journalists of Ukraine, illegally arrested and detained in the Russian Federation from September 2016 to September 7, 2019

Stanislav Aseev,

author of Radio Liberty, RFE/RL project Donbass.Realii, illegally detained in Donetsk (not controlled by Ukrainian authorities) from June 2017 to December 29, 2019

Confirmed by the National Union of Journalists of Ukraine 28.04.2020